Our History

Discussion among superintendents began in 1986 about the possibility of forming an Alberta association of golf course superintendents. This interest led to an arranged meeting of four superintendents from across the province to explore the possible advantages of forming such an association.

This resulted in a survey sent to all Alberta superintendents in July of 1986. The results indicated strong support by many for a professional Superintendent's Association. Many meetings resulted in the formation of the AGSA, and by-laws were registered with the Alberta Corporate Registry in May of 1987.

The purpose was to promote the position of the Golf Course Superintendent and to achieve more recognition for the Superintendent as an authority on golf course maintenance, cultural requirements of fine turf grass and its environment, and to promote fraternity, benevolence, justice and mutual understanding to and for all its members.

Founding Members

Jim Ross, Stony Plain Golf Course 
Walt Gooder, Edmonton Country Club 
Bob Onyschuk, The Links at Spruce Grove
David Boyd, Windermere Golf & C.C.
Dave Whitell, Glendale Golf & C.C.
Wayne Brown,  Red Deer Golf & C.C.

Charter Members

Andrew Aucoin, Bob Bach, Don Bilyk, Bernie Blais, Neil Blayney, Garry Bodnar, David Boyd, Wayne Brown, Ray Buffel, Jon Clark, Rick David, Carmon Dewald, Pierre deMoissac, Al Derkoch, Kerry Ditchburn, Ron Doherty, Glenn Genereux, Walt Gooder, Brent Goodwin, Ray Guimont, Charlie Herder, Len Heyworth, Ron Hume, Brian Jackson, Dave Keith, Steve Kerbrat, Tim Knutson, Jay Leach, Dan Marchand, Dean Morrison, Rick Munroe, Max Nelson, Ken Olsvik, Bob Onyschuk, Dean Piller, Tod Puddicombe, Jim Ross, Ed Sims, Garth Sjolie, Matt Spokas, Peter Stepanko, Paul Turenne, Dave Whitell

2020 Board of Directors

Mark Begin
1st Year Director 
Career Profile ~
Mark is the Superintendent of Medicine Hat Golf and Country Club, which is an 18 hole semi private golf course located on the South Saskatchewan River overlooking the city of Medicine Hat.  Mark graduated from Fairview College, holds a diploma in Turfgrass Management, and has been in the golf industry for 25 years.
 Contact - Feel free to contact Mark at:
Email: mbeginsup@outlook.com
                                                                                     Phone: 403 502-6826                                                                                                                              
        Jeff Lefebvre
2nd Year Director 
Career Profile ~Jeff is in his first year as Superintendent at Belvedere Golf and Country club, after spending the previous seven at Northern Bear Golf Club. Belvedere Golf and Country Club is a private 18 hole golf course located between Sherwood Park and Southeast Edmonton. Jeff also spent 3 years at Coloniale Golf Club, 15 years at Windermere G&CC and 4 years at Glendale G&CC. Jeff is a graduate from Fairview College and has been a member of the AGSA since 1995. 
Contact - Please contact Jeff at:
Email: jeff@belvederegcc.com
Phone:780-467 2652                                                                                                                                                                             
             Garry Haynes, AGS
Secretary/Treasurer Director
 Career Profile ~ Garry has been in the golf Industry for 23 years. The last 10 of those years have been as the Golf Course Superintendent at the Blue Devil Golf Club in Calgary. Blue Devil Golf Club is owned and operated by Play Golf Calgary, A multi course owner in Calgary and surrounding area.  Garry’s career started in Whistler in 1995 at Nicklaus North Golf Club, and since then has been in Calgary for the past 22 years working at various courses. Garry hasa diploma in Turfgrass Management from Olds College and a Turf Certificate from the University Of Massachusetts. Garry has been a member of the AGSA for the past 16 years.
Contact - Feel free to contact Garry at:
Email: garry@bluedevilgolf.com
Phone: 403-616 8985                                                                                                                                                             

    Chris Prodahl
AGSA Vice President 
Career Profile ~ Chris has been the Golf Course Superintendent at The Glendale Golf and Country Club for the past 4 years and been in the Golf Course Industry for 21 years. The Glendale Golf and Country Club is a private 18 hole golf course located on the Northwest side of Edmonton. Chris previously spent 12 years at Priddis Greens Golf and Country Club in Calgary and before that was in Saskatchewan. A graduate from Olds College, Chris holds a diploma in Turfgrass Management. Chris has been an AGSA Member for 14 years.  
Contact - Feel free to contact Chris at:
Email: cprodahl@theglendale.com
Phone: 780 447 3062                                                                                                                                                                                          
Dean Zilinski

AGSA President 
CareerProfile ~
Dean has been in the golf course industry for 25 years and is currently in his 10th season as the Superintendent of Coal Creek Golf Resort.  Located 50 minutes east ofEdmonton, Coal Creek is a public golf facility that was constructed on the site of a reclaimed coal mine.  Dean holds a diploma in Turfgrass Management from Fairview College and has been a member of the AGSA since 1999. 
Contact -
Feel free to contact Dean at:
Email: dean@coalcreekgolfresort.com Phone: 780663 3560                                                                                                                                                                                     
       Cameron Kusiek
AGSA Past President 
Career Profile
~ Cameron started at Carnmoney Golf Club in 2019 and has been in the golf industry for 19 years. Carnmoney is an 18-hole private golf course just south of Calgary.  Prior to Carnmoney, Cameron spent the previous 7 years as Course & Grounds Superintendent at River Bend Golf & Recreation Area in Red Deer and before that worked at the Old Course in St. Andrews, Scotland and at Wolf Creek Golf Resort.  Cameron is a graduate of the University of Guelph Turfgrass Management program and the University of Alberta Science program.  Cameron has been an AGSA member for 10 years.
 Contact - Feel free to contact Cameron at:
Email: cameronk@carnmoney.com   Phone: 403-256-6406